Advisory Bodies

NOC Stakeholder Advisory Board

The NOC Stakeholder Advisory Board is a non-executive body that advise on the strategic development of the NOC and its engagement with the wider community, including policy makers, industry and the public.

The board help the centre to maximise our impact and outreach via public engagement as well as advising on the development and delivery of the overall NOC strategy. They also work on behalf of the Natural Environmental Research Council (NERC) to monitor and advise on the national leadership, co-ordination and facilitation remit of the centre, including the delivery of National Capability managed by the centre.

The expertise and experience the Members of the Advisory Council can offer us will be invaluable as we chart the way ahead.

Professor Ed Hill, Executive Director of the National Oceanography Centre

Current members of the NOC Stakeholder Advisory Board

Professor Dougal Goodman FREng, Dr James Baker, Professor Peter Liss CBE FRS, John Murray, Professor Peter Herzig, Dr Phil Heads, Professor Ajit Shenoi, Colin Grant, Dr Caron Montgomery, Professor Stephen Belcher

Marine Facilities Advisory Board

The Marine Facilities Advisory Board (MFAB) has the task to develop a medium to long-term holistic strategy for future equipment requirements in Marine Science. This will respond to and reflect our community’s needs and to assess current and future funding.

Until 2011, the Natural Environmental Research Council’s (NERC) marine facilities were overseen by the Marine Facilities Review Group (MFRG), with advice on the National Marine Equipment Pool (NMEP) being provided by science requirements identified on small and medium sized enterprises forms and discipline-based User Groups. MFRG reviewed the delivery of cruises over the previous year, and took a forward view of equipment requirements for the delivery of future cruises and additions to the NMEP. While this provided a good mechanism for enhancing the NMEP, the remit of the Group was such that developing a strategic view of future equipment requirements was somewhat piecemeal and of short-term nature.

A medium to longer-term holistic approach to future equipment requirements is vital in an environment of burgeoning demands and erratic Government funding opportunity, especially where funding constraints are likely to become even more challenging in the future. Consequently, the processes of cruise review and strategy development has been separated, the latter activity being developed by the Marine Facilities Advisory Board (MFAB; membership listed below).

The role of MFAB includes to:

  • Undertake an audit of marine equipment to establish what is available, what state it is in and how much it has been used in the past 5-10 years. This will not only provide essential information for the current NERC cruise programme, but also help to anticipate the likely requirements for NERC sea-going science delivery in the near to medium future.
  • Identify new and/or emerging capabilities.
  • Develop a strategy that prioritises the equipment portfolio with regard to emerging and declining requirements.
  • Report changes in requirements (actual or predicted) to the NERC Cruise Programme Executive Board to help inform funding decisions.

The 2019 membership of the MFAB is given below and includes a table of NOC personnel who have an advisory role.

Membership of Marine Facilities Advisory Board 2019

Name Organisation Expertise
Dr Adrian Baker Defence Science and Technology Laboratory Science strategy, planning and management, review of scientific programmes and deliverables.
Dr Joerg Biaias GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel Dr Biaias is the international barter partner on the MFAB and has expertise in marine geophysics, instrumentation and geo-acoustical mapping methods.
Professor Mike Elliott University of Hull Estuaries and coastal areas, marine and estuarine pollution, marine biology, terrain mapping.
Dr Kate Hendry University of Bristol Biogeochemical cycling and past ocean processes, environmental geosciences, climate modelling, vice-chair of the Advances in Marine Biogeochemistry (AMBIO) group.
Dr Jo Hopkins National Oceanography Centre Physical oceanography, ship-based observations, moored and autonomous platforms, nutrient cycling.
Dr Kerry Howell Plymouth University Deep-sea ecosystems, species diversity, habitat mapping, MPAs, impacts of deep-water fisheries.
Dr Clara Manno British Antarctic Survey Pelagic marine ecology, marine plastic, open-ocean biological laboratories and ocean acidification.
Dr Chris McGonigle Ulster University Marine geophysical data, sampling, underwater imagery, acoustic techniques to understand biotic, abiotic resources.
Professor Mark Moore University of Southampton Marine phytoplankton ecophysiology and biogeochemistry, nutrient limitation, fluorescence, sampling equipment.
Professor Carol Robinson, Chair University of East Anglia Marine bacteria, phytoplankton and zooplankton, analytical chemistry, remote sensing, gliders, time series datasets.
Randolph Sliester British Antarctic Survey Ship operations manager
Dr Tim Smyth Plymouth Marine Laboratory Marine biogeochemistry and observations, atmospheric measurements, moorings.
Professor Nick Wright Newcastle University Engineer with experience of collaboration with marine, geo and environmental scientists through providing technology.
Dr Mike Webb Natural Environment Research Council Head of Science, Natural Environment Research Council.
National Oceanography Centre
Name Job Title and staff profile
Dr Graham Allen Associate Director, Chief Information Officer
Colin Day Head of Programme Management
Dr Maaten Furlong Head of Marine Autonomous and Robotics Systems
Professor Angela Hatton Director of Science and Technology
Helen Oldridge Head of Scientific Engineering
Dr Matthew Palmer Chief Scientist – Science Community Engagement
Jackie Pearson, Secretariat Engagement and Partnerships Administrator
Julie Pringle Stewart Chief Operating Officer
Leigh Storey Associate Director, National Marine Facilities

Membership of Marine Facilities Advisory Board 2017

Name Organisation
Dr Sophie Fielding British Antarctic Survey
Professor Karen Heywood University of East Anglia
Professor Mark Inall, Chair Scottish Association for Marine Science
Dr Erica Koning Netherlands Insitute for Sea Research
Professor Matt Mowlem National Oceanography Centre
Jackie Pearson, Secretariat National Oceanography Centre
Professor Christine Peirce University of Durham
Dr Andy Rees Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Randolph Sliester British Antarctic Survey
Captain Tim Stockings British Antarctic Survey
Dr Mike Webb Natural Environment Research Council
Professor Russell Wynn National Oceanography Centre