Staff Directory

Search for staff by name

We share the National Oceanography Centre Southampton (NOCS) with the University of Southampton. If you cannot find who you are looking for, it may be because they work for our collaborative partner, Ocean and Earth Science at the University of Southampton. Please check the Ocean and Earth Science website.

Centre Directors

Executive Director
Director of Science and Technology
Chief Operating Officer

Associate Directors

Chief Information Officer
Corporate and Business Support
Associate Director for Research
National Marine Facilities
Strategic Business Development
Government, International and Public Engagement

Science and Technology

Marine Physics and Ocean Climate

Prof. Sheldon Bacon
Group Head
Prof. Penny Holliday
Associate Head
Dr Laurent Amoudry
Associate Head

National Marine Facilities

Logistics Technical Group

Tyrone Vernon
Group Head

Programme Management

Colin Day
Group Head

Research Ships Management

Guy Dale-Smith
Research Ship Manager

Other Groups

British Ocean Sediment Core Research Facility


Lucy Cox
Group Head

International and Strategic Partnerships Office

Alan Evans
Group Head

Marine Robotics Innovation Centre

Aidan Thorn
Innovation Centre Business Manager

National Oceanographic Library

Jane Stephenson
Head of Library and Information Services

Programme Office

Steve Jellings
Group Head

Strategic Business Development

Dr Pushkar Wadke
Head of Strategic Business Development and Innovation